Transformation, Respect and Gratitude… My After Weight Loss Surgery in Mexico

My experience with CosMed has made me feel like a new woman. Am I pleased with the outcome? You better believe I am!

Note: This entry is part 5 of Marika’s journey. Click to see her first post about choosing lap band surgery.

My surgical date was April 12th, 2010. I had a lower body lift, as well as an arm lift.

I chose to have cosmetic surgery to remove excess skin as a result of losing a significant amount of weight. After a thorough amount of research, and careful consideration I selected Dr. Alajandro Quiroz based on the following criteria, listed in the following order, which were the most important reasons to me.

1. As an elective surgery, the procedures were not covered by my medical insurance, and the prices quoted by Cos Med were within my reach, with financing options available.

2. To understand skin, to truly understand how it moves, stretches, and how to manipulate it is an art form.  He realistically knew what he was going to be able to with this large unruly mass of skin.

3. Dr. Quiroz is not only a plastic surgeon; he specializes in reconstructive surgery which was not the case with all the surgeons I researched.  In my opinion that placed him head and shoulders above his competition.

4. While his practice is based in Mexico, he holds a license to practice medicine in both Mexico and California.

5. Dr Quiroz speaks perfect English, which I also found out was not always the case with the other surgeons. There was no language barrier, no misunderstandings, it made sense to me. I knew I was on the right track.

6. In addition to the above mentioned items and equally important were the reviews on him and his clinic. While I understand that there are always pros and cons in all review s it was my belief that I had found the surgeon who best suited my needs.

7. As for my decision to have the procedures done in Mexico vs. the United States believe me, there were a lot of well intentioned  friends and family who tried to dissuade me from choosing to leave the country to have my surgery done. I was told that my safety was going to be compromised by going to Mexico. I understand your concerns, as they were also mine. With the amount of revenue Mexico takes in from doing dental work and surgeries on such a steady daily  basis  Tijuana must be a safe enough environment, After all there are many places in the United States that are unsafe, I felt I was making the right decision for me.

The care I received from everyone at the clinic had again confirmed that I had made the right decision.

The care I received from everyone at the clinic had  again confirmed that I had made the right decision. Joyce, who schedules the surgeries and trouble shoots the questions as well as allaying any fears you might have is a caring and dependable person. No mater how busy Joyce is, she does her best to get back to you in a timely fashion. She does not get upset if you call her repeatedly and will devote the time needed to make you feel important. All of the nurses,are wonderful. Under the direct supervision of nurse Perla, who heads an organized, efficient and caring staff you never get the feeling that you are a number, you are always treated as an individual who maters to each and every of them. Marta, the nurse who attended me after the surgery was an absolute professional, she was kind and caring during a time when I was in need.

As for the after care, the office provided me three different options, the first was a well appointed  luxury hotel located close to the office, The Lucerna. The other options were a choice to stay at the home of one of two different individuals who would take you in and care for your needs. I chose to stay at the home of Irene Sanchez. The care, and the attention to my comfort was overwhelming. Ms. Sanchez attended to all my needs, from changing my bandages, making sure that I took my meds on time, and cooking some of the best food I have ever eaten not to mention getting me to my follow up appointments. Irene is a highly efficient woman and kind beyond words. At a time when I was most vulnerable she made me feel comfortable and secure. I strongly recommend her!

My experience with CosMed Clinic has made me feel like a new woman.

Am I pleased with the outcome?  You better believe I am!

Being a mature woman, ok a fifty year old woman, there, ya happy I told you my age, I know you were wondering.

I feel healthier, sexier, and more confidant both in and out of clothes. I am enjoying shopping even more than I did when I was heavy, and boy did I like to shop then too. I can move, dance, walk and interact with total confidence.  Will I have any other procedures done at CosMed, where do I begin…The answer is yes, I will be having a partial face lift to get rid of my gobble gobble chin and an upper body lift as well. I would  also would like to have my breasts improved upon, a lift and quite probably implants.  Look out world, here I come, or more precisely HERE I AM!

I am available and invite you to write me, please give me your feedback and ask me questions. I will be forthright and sincere and promise to provide you and a few laughs along the way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Transformation, Respect and Gratitude… My After Weight Loss Surgery in Mexico

  1. Pingback: To have surgery in Mexico… or not to have surgery in Mexico, that is the question. | Plastic Surgery Mexico

  2. I am following with interest. Thank you for bringing us this information.

    • Marika says:

      Thank you for reading the blog, if you have any questions you would like to ask feel free, and have a Happy Thanksgiving!

      • Lorraine Borrero says:

        I enjoyed your story. I will be looking at your photos. I am very leery about Mexico. I am also worried about something going wrong with the surgery results and perhaps getting infections or something worse. How much research did you do before you chose Dr. Quiroz?

  3. Marika says:

    Hi Lorraine,
    I’m glad you enjoyed my story. I will be posting additional photos soon. Tell me about yourself, what type of surgery would you like to have?I really understand your feeling leery about going to Mexico, I was too. Now that the surgery is behind me I will plan another procedure soon. It’s my opinion/belief that once you get the first one under your belt you will not hesitate going back for additional work. I understand your concerns about something going wrong, but that can happen anywhere. Listen to the doctor, adhere to the quidelines, take care of yourself, eat right and onward. I listened, I crossed every “t” and dotted every “i”. You can get an infection anywhere, if so then you take antibiotics and go on. As for the research, yes, I did a good deal of research. Dr. Quiroz speaks perfect nglish, is licensed in both California and Mexico. He did not push anything onto me. He asked questions and listened to me. I met him prior to the procedure, however, I have met and spoked to several people who never met Dr. Quiroz untill the day of their surgery. To me, that was very brave. I would love to talk with you further Lorraine, please write me with additional questions and I will be frank and sincere with you. Thanks, Marika

Leave a comment